New & Stories

19 Democrats Say They Oppose CA Lawmaker Nancy Pelosi’s Bid for Speaker

Several Democrats have said that they oppose Nancy Pelosi’s bid to once again be the next Speaker of the House of Representatives, saying that she will not be a good leader for the Democratic Party, and that the Party needs a new direction.

The Democrats signed a letter opposing Pelosi’s campaign. According to Politico, “the Democrats praised Pelosi as “a historic figure” but argued that it is time for a change in leadership in the Party from the top down.

“Our majority came on the backs of candidates who said that they would support new leadership because voters in hard-won districts, and across the country, want to see real change in Washington,” they wrote. “We promised to change the status quo, and we intend to deliver on that promise. ” Some Democrats have also expressed concerns that Pelosi’s policies as Speaker could place newly-elected members in former red districts. 

The opposition from within her party could potentially through a wrench in her plans to become the next Speaker, especially if the public opposition continues to grow. Pelosi needs 218 votes to be elected Speaker on January 3rd. House Democrats have won 233 seats, meaning Pelosi can only afford to lose fifteen votes. Sixteen Democrats have signed on the letter. Twelve of them are incumbent, three are incumbent representatives, and one signed onto the letter who has not yet officially won his seat. 

Rep. Conor Lamb of Pennsylvania, Abigail Spanberger of Virginia and Jason Crow of Colorado did not sign onto the letter but told news sources that they also intent to oppose Pelosi’s bid. In total, there are nineteen members or members-elect who have pledged to vote oppose Pelosi. If these members refuse to budge, they could effectively ensure that Pelosi is unsuccessful in her bid. 

Democratic Reps. Kathleen Rice (New York), Tim Ryan (Ohio), Seth Moulton (Massachusetts), Ed Perlmutter (Colorado), Kurt Schrader (Oregon), Filemon Vela (Texas), Bill Foster (Illinois), Brian Higgins (New York), Stephen Lynch (Massachusetts), Linda Sánchez (California) and Jim Cooper (Tennessee), as well as Reps.-elect Jeff Van Drew (New Jersey), Joe Cunningham (South Carolina), Max Rose and Anthony Brindisi of New York, and candidate McAdams.


Double your support of CFC’s work to defend Life, Family, & Liberty by giving before December 31!